Upgrading to perl 5.26

This morning I decided to purge my 5.24 installation on my development PC and move to 5.26. Bad mistake. Many distributions still fail to build without PERL_USE_UNSAFE_INC=1, I might as well put the environment on my ~/.bashrc. These are the ones that hit me (after a few of these, I just built with PERL_USE_UNSAFE_INC=1): Compiler::Lexer (GOCCY), OrePAN (TOKUHIROM), Task::Weaken (ADAMK), Test::SubCalls (ADAMK), Test::Object (ADAMK), Term::Encoding (MIYAGAWA). Apparently, for many of these dists tickets/issues have been posted since 3 months ago but the authors/maintainers have simply not responded. Many authors have perhaps moved on to greener pastures, we need more adopters.

Leave a Reply

